

Dade Moeller Experts Advance Field of Radiation Safety at Annual Health Physics Society Meeting in Indianapolis

RICHLAND, Wash. – July 7, 2015 – Fourteen Dade Moeller health physicists [radiation protection scientists] will convene in Indianapolis from July 12–16 to share technical expertise and promote the future of radiation safety at the 60th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society. Dade Moeller experts will give seven presentations, and seven employees will serve in leadership positions. Additionally, one employee will receive an award for leadership in military health physics, and another will be named to the board of directors. The Society also will honor the company's namesake and leader in the field of health physics, the late Dr. Dade W. Moeller, through a lectureship. A long-time affiliate member of the Health Physics Society, Dade Moeller employs more certified health physicists than any other company in the United States.

PRESENTATIONS

Dade Moeller staff members will present the following technical programs during the meeting:

- Monday, July 13, 12:15 p.m., Eugene (Gene) H. Carbaugh (Richland, Wash.), Professional Enrichment Program: Where Did This Come From? Lessons Learned from Bioassay Investigations
- Monday, July 13, 3:15 p.m., Alan Fellman (Gaithersburg, Md.), Regulatory/Licensing Section:
 What is Radiation Safety if Safety Left Town?
- Monday, July 13, 5:00 p.m., Gene Carbaugh, Emergency Response/Homeland Security Section:
 The On-Call Manual: A Tool for After-Hours Dosimetry Responders
- Tuesday, July 14, 4:15 p.m., Tracy Ikenberry (Richland, Wash.), NESHAPS Section: Seasonal
 Variability and Content of On-Site Ambient Air Monitoring, with Lessons Learned
- Wednesday, July 15, 2:30 p.m., Doug Draper (Erlanger, Ky., on behalf of John Cardarelli, EPA),
 Homeland Security Section: The U.S. EPA Airborne Spectral Photometric Environmental

Collection Technology (ASPECT) Radiological Surveys for Environmental and Homeland Security Purposes

• Thursday, July 16, 7:00 a.m., Gene Carbaugh, Continuing Education Lecture: *The 1976 Hanford Americium Accident – Then and Now*

Additionally, Alan Fellman will co-chair the Regulatory/Licensing session on Monday afternoon; Gerald (Jerry) Gels (Erlanger, Ky.) will proctor three Professional Enrichment Program sessions; and Doug Draper will proctor one Continuing Education Lecture and one Professional Enrichment Program session.

LEADERSHIP

Several Dade Moeller staff members serve in Health Physics Society leadership positions and will be participating in the following related board and committee meetings throughout the week:

- Gene Carbaugh, Local Arrangements Committee (co-chair for 2016 meeting)
- Eva Dupuis-Nouille (Cincinnati), Local Arrangements Committee, Science and Support Committee, and Continuing Education Committee
- Tracy Ikenberry, Board of Directors, *Health Physics Journal* Editorial Board (associate editor), Standards Committee (ANSI technical advisor), and N13 (Radiation Protection) Standards Committee
- Ed Maher (Acton, Mass.), Awards Committee and Scientific and Public Issues Committee
- Ali Simpkins (San Antonio, Texas), Governance Task Force (chair), Public Information
 Committee, N13 (Radiation Protection) Standards Committee, *Health Physics Journal* Editorial
 Board (associate editor), and Environmental/Radon Section Board (term begins at end of
 meeting)

Additionally, at the end of the meeting, Jim Bogard (Oak Ridge, Tenn.) will begin the first of a 3-year term as an elected member of the Board of Directors.

AWARD

On the evening of July 13, Senior Health Physicist Edward F. Maher will be honored with the John C. Taschner Leadership Award from the society's military section, recognizing Maher's distinguished leadership in advancing the field of military health physics (health physics performed in the service of the Department of Defense or the Public Health Service).

SCIENCE CAMP

Jerry Gels will be volunteering as a presenter at the society's inaugural Science Camp on Tuesday, July 14. He will present a 30-minute talk, *Environmental Radiation*, for 5 different groups of 20 students each. Science Camp is a free event for Indianapolis-area middle school and high school students and teachers designed to interest students in atomic science, especially health physics and other radiological science fields. The Health Physics Society intends for Science Camp to become an annual event held across the country in conjunction with the society's annual meetings.

LECTURESHIP

During the Society's Plenary Session on Monday morning, July 13, Dr. Marie-Lorraine Marceau-Day will receive the Dade Moeller Lectureship Award following her presentation on the topic of "How Science and Technology will Change the Practice of Health Physics." Day serves as the safety program administrator at Louisiana State University's Center for Advanced Microstructures and Devices, and she teaches classes in health physics and medical physics. Her areas of expertise include interlocks, instrumentation, risk assessment, nanotechnology, and toxicology. She is a fellow of the Health Physics Society and is the current chair of the Nanotechnology Committee. She has spent 12 years on the Continuing Education Committee, served as Past President of the Accelerator Section, and served two terms as President of the Deep South Chapter.

The Dade Moeller Lectureship Award is made possible through the Dade Moeller Fund, established in 2009. The Fund is independently managed by the Health Physics Society, using funds bequeathed by the company. The lectureship award enables the Society to invite and support distinguished experts to share their knowledge with the membership at meetings.

EXHIBIT

Throughout the week, Dade Moeller representatives will be meeting with long-time colleagues and discussing corporate capabilities with potential clients, partners, and employees in the exhibit hall at space #314. As in past years, Dade Moeller will have a prominent space at the exhibition, located near the lounge area, with tables and chairs set up within the booth space to facilitate professional fellowship and "cross-fertilization" of ideas. This year, the company's exhibit will focus on its health care services subsidiary, Dade Moeller Health Group, and the company-sponsored NORM/TENORM Industry Day to be held in conjunction with next year's Health Physics Society Annual Meeting in Spokane, Wash.

ABOUT THE HEALTH PHYSICS SOCIETY

The Health Physics Society is a nonprofit scientific professional organization established in 1956 to promote the practice of radiation safety. Its Annual Meeting is attended by radiation protection experts and practitioners representing government agencies, laboratories, academic institutions, private corporations, and non-profit organizations from around the world.

ABOUT DADE MOELLER

Headquartered in Richland, Wash., Dade Moeller is a nationally recognized firm that provides a full range of professional and technical services to federal, state, and commercial clients in support of safety, radiological, and environmental operations. The company specializes in radiation protection, <u>industrial hygiene</u>, <u>environmental services</u>, <u>laboratory consulting</u>, <u>analytical services</u>, and <u>training</u>. The company bears the name of the late Dr. Dade W. Moeller, a leading scientist and educator in the fields of health physics and environmental health. Dr. Moeller served as President of the Health Physics Society from 1971–1972.

###

Media Contact: Paula Tumlinson, 509-942-3704, <u>ptumlinson@moellerinc.com</u>