# 2017 GRC AWARDS NOMINATION FORM

**NOMINATION FORM.** All pages of this Nomination Form must be completed and submitted by Friday, June 16, 2017 in order for your nominee to be considered by the Awards & Honors Committee. Please answer the questions as clearly and fully as you can and written responses should contain a minimum of 30 words.

**SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION.** The person nominating someone for an award, should attach a C.V. of the candidate and, attach at least one letter of recommendation (the more the better) from a colleague belonging to an institution or company different from that of the candidate. In addition, supplementary information such as press or other announcements of nominee's geothermal achievements, publications, or anything else you think is relevant.

**AWARDS LUNCH.** Note that it is strongly preferable, but not absolutely required, that award winners be able to attend the GRC Awards Lunch during the Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah on Wednesday, October 4, 2017.

HOW & WHERE TO SUBMIT NOMINATION MATERIAL. You may submit this completed Nomination Form and supplementary information either by email gro@geothermal.org, by fax (530) 758.2839, or by regular mail: Geothermal Resources Council, attn Awards & Honors Committee, P.O. Box 1350, Davis, CA 95617-1350.

**DEADLINE DATE.** No matter which submittal method you choose, all nomination material must be received by the GRC office no later than **Friday, June 16, 2017**.

If you have questions, contact Shigeto Yamada, Awards & Honors Committee Chair, yamada-shigeto@fujielectric.com, + 81-44-329-2123.

#### REQUIRED INFORMATION:

#### 1. NOMINEE'S name and contact information:

Name	Company/organization name (if applicable)					
Mailing Address (company/org.)	City	State	Zip	Country		
Phone#	Fax#	Mobile Phone#				
E-mail address						

### 2. NOMINATOR'S name and contact information:

(If more than one person is making this nomination, please choose one to be the main contact person.)

Name	Company/organization	Company/organization name (if applicable)			
Mailing Address (company/org.)	City	State	Zip	Country	
Phone#	Fax#	Mobile Phone#		•	
E-mail address	•	·			

REV. 03/17 CM

Colleague #  Daytime pho  Colleague #  Daytime pho	one:	Email address:
Colleague #		Email address:
	2	
Daytime pho		
	one:	Email address:
Others:		
omination to ee pages 4-5 for	be considered for the following list of past winners.)	award/s:
	Joseph W. Aidlin Award - Recognizes outstanding contributi development of geothermal resou	ons to the Geothermal Resources Council and to the rces.
	Geothermal Pioneer Award - Recognizes outstanding achievem	nents in the development of geothermal resources.
	Henry J. Ramey, Jr. Geothermal R For outstanding achievements in t	deservoir Engineering Award - he field of geothermal reservoir engineering.
	Ben Holt Geothermal Power Plant Recognizes outstanding achievem and construction.	Award - nents in the field of geothermal power plant design
	Geothermal Special Achievement Recognizes special or outstanding development and related areas.	Award - g achievements in any aspect of geothermal energy
his the first	time this person is being nomin	ated for this/these awards?yesnonot sure
	know that you are making this	·

3. Names and contact information of two or more colleagues who know this nominee and would probably be glad to hear

from us if we want more information about the nominee's achievements:

8. For about how many years and in what capacity/ies has your nominee been involved with the geothermal industry? A minimum of 30 words is required. (If you are including nominee's resume with this Nomination Form, you may write "see resume" and just skip this question.)
9. Please explain why you believe your nominee is deserving of this award. This response should be as inclusive as possible. A minimum of 30 words is required.

## **GRC Award Winners**

**Joseph W. Aidlin Award -** Recognizes outstanding contributions to the GRC and to the development of geothermal resources.

2016	Anna Carter	2004	Joel L. Renner	1993	Jacob M. Rudisill
2015	Gene Suemnicht	2003	Sabodh K. Garg	1992	John Rowley
2014	Marilyn Nemzer	2002	Louis E. Capuano, Jr.	1991	Don Falcone
2013	Lucien Y. Bronicki	2001	Marshall Reed	1990	Harry Olson
2012	R. Gordon Bloomquist	2000	Richard Campbell &	1989	Jim Combs
2011	Paul Brophy		Yuri Esaki	1988	Patrick Muffler
2010	Marcelo Lippmann	1999	Ben Holt	1987	James B. Koenig
2009	David Blackwell	1998	Susan Hodgson	1986	Bob Greider
2008	John Lund	1997	Subir Sanyal	1985	Robert Fournier
2007	Philip Messer	1996	Gerald Huttrer	1983	David N. Anderson
2006	Philip M. Wright	1995	W.A.J. (Tony) Mahon	1982	William Byrd
2005	Daniel Schochet	1994	John E. (Ted) Mock	1979	Joseph W. Aidlin

Geothermal Pioneer Award - Recognizes outstanding achievements in the development of geothermal resources.

2016	Wilfred Elders	2004	Carl F. Austin	1991	Comision Federal de
2015	Alfredo Lahsen	2003	Luis F. De Ande Flores		Electricidad (Mexico)
2014	Joseph LaFleur	2002	Alfred Truesdell	1990	Japan Metals & Chemical
2013	Gustavo Cuellar	2001	Gary Shulman		Co., Inc.
2012	Tsuneo Ishido &	2000	Gerardo Hiriart	1989	ENEL (Electric Energy
	Darrell L. Gallup	1999	Peter Cartwright		Authority of Italy)
2011	Trevor M. Hunt	1998	Larry Jones	1988	Gunnar Bodvarsson &
2010	John Pritchett	1997	Paul Lienau &		Johannes Zoega
2009	Patrick Brown &		John Lund	1987	Donald White
	Joe Moore	1996	Dita and Lucien Bronicki	1986	Carl Otte
2008	Stuart Johnson &	1995	H. Christopher Armstead	1985	New Zealand DSIR &
	Dick Benoit	1994	Henry J. Ramey, Jr.		Ministry of Works
2007	Paul Hirtz	1994	Joseph W. Aidlin	1983	Giancarlo Facca
2006	Tsvi Mediav	1993	James McNitt	1982	Reid Stone
2005	John Featherstone	1992	Ben Holt	1980	B.C. McCabe

Henry J. Ramey, Jr. Geothermal Reservoir Engineering Award - Recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of geothermal reservoir engineering.

2015 Thomas Kohl 2009 Cal Stroebel 2014 Anthony J. Menzies 2008 Ladislaus Rybach 2013 Subir K. Sanyal 2007 Karsten Pruess 2011 Michael J. O'Sullivan 2006 Roland N. Home		John Pritchett		Malcolm Grant
2013 Subir K. Sanyal 2007 Karsten Pruess				
2011   Michael J. O Sullivari 2000   Roland N. Home				
	20	iviicriaei J. O Sullivan	2006	Roland IV. Home

Ben Holt Geothermal Power Plant Award - Honors outstanding achievements in the field of geothermal power plant design and construction.

2015 2014 2013	Dan Hoyer Robert Tucker John R. Brugman Kenneth A. Phair Nobuhiko Hara	2009 2007	Bill Lewis Richard Campbell Ronald DiPippo Kenneth Nichols
----------------------	--	--------------	---

**Geothermal Special Achievement Award -** Recognizes special or outstanding achievements in any aspect of geothermal energy development and related areas.

2016	Dale Merrick, Paul Spielman & Aroha Campbell
2015	Roland Home, Ryuichi Itoi, Al Waibel
2014	Jill Robinson Haizlip, Ann Robertson-Tait & Colin Goranson
2013	Ingvar Birgir Fridleifsson, Doone Wyborn, Connie and Bernie Karl, & William
	Cumming
2012	Doug Powell, Jack A. Frost, Ahmad Ghassemi, & Patrick Dobson
2011	Greg Mines, Joseph J. Beall & Jefferson W. Tester
2010	Toni Boyd & Steve Enedy
2009	Tom Box, Jim Lovekin, & Roy Mink
2008	Gordon Bloomquist
2007	Karl Gawell
2006	Jeffrey Hulen & Charlene Wardlow
2005	Orhan Metroglu, Joseph Moore, John Sass, & Mike Shook
2004	David D. Blackwell and Marnell Dickson
2003	Tsuneo Ishido, Douglas Jung, Tom Champness, & Luis Guiterrez Negrin
2002	Enrico Barbier, Richard Hoops, & Russell James
2001	Sabodh Garg, Marcelo Lippmann, Eugene Premuzic, & Luis Quijano
2000	John Pritchett, Dan Schochet, Bob Sullivan, & Franco Tonani
1999	Dick Benoit, Gene Culver, Tsvi Meidav, & P. Michael Wright
1998	Angus Brodie, David Glowka, Harry Veizades, & Tatsuo Yamasaki
1997	Jack Adrian, Mark Dellinger, & Nazario Vasquez
1995	George A. Frye
1993	Derek Freeston, Geo-Heat Center, & Marilyn Nemzer
1991	Bob Forest & John E. (Ted) Mock